Romantic Movies Come in Fives or Sixes

Ah, yes Valentine’s Day. A day for love, dates, affection, and eating chocolate galore. And of course movie watching, With the glorious invention of Netflix, hundreds of movies and TV shows are at our very fingertips.

So with Valentine’s Day being tomorrow, I have to decided to compose a list of some of the most romantic movies I have seen to date. Hopefully, by the end of my list you’ll have grabbed a pen and paper and written at least a couple of them down.

5. The Magic of Ordinary Days

I’m such a sucker for sappy Hallmark flicks. The Magic of Ordinary Days is no exception. Keri Russell plays a young lady who is pregnant during WW2. She gets sent to another city to wed Ray Singleton, played by Skeet Ulrich. She is quite unhappy with this arranged marriage until feelings begin to change. Note to self: I’ve forgotten how much I adore this movie. I see myself watching it in the near future.

4. Mr. Smith Goes to Washington

Jimmy Stewart, Jimmy Stewart, and ummm…Jimmy Stewart. So in case you haven’t gotten it just yet, Jimmy Stewart is in this little flick. Along with the brilliant Jean Arthur.
The year is 1939. Jimmy Stewart plays Jeffereson Smith, a bright-eyed dreamer that has been appointed to be a senator. Jean Arthur brilliantly portrays Clarissa Saunders, Mr. Smith’s assistant. All poor Jeff Smith wants to do is pass a bill to start a National Boy’s Camp so that boys can get out of the city and learn about American ideals. Easier said than done. No one takes him seriously and drama ensues. In the midst of everything, you see a sweet little love story begin to unfold between Saunders and Smith. Watch for the scene near the Lincoln Memorial.

3. It Happened One Night

Where do I start on this one? I first watched this in 1998 and completely fell head over heels for this movie. This movie stars Claudette Colbert and THE Clark Gable. And if those weren’t enough reasons to watch it-It Happened One Night swept the Oscars in 1934. Including wins for best picture, director, actor and actress.
Ellie Andrews, played by Claudette Colbert, is engaged to her fiance, King Wesley. She believes she has fallen madly in love with him. But her father thinks otherwise and Ellie runs away from it all and hops the first bus out of town. Only to find out she is being followed by a reporter Peter Warne, played by none other than Clark Gable. They begin to spend lots of time together and slowly but surely, they begin to fall for each other.
Trivia Time: Rumor has it the scenes of Ellie and Peter munching on carrots, gave Warner Brothers the idea of Bugs Bunny.

2. The Diary of Anne Frank(1962)

I really admire Anne Frank. Having endured through many hardships, she still managed some time to be positive. Writing down her experiences while living in the secret annex was her outlet. And her sweet little romance with Peter? Well, it most certainly makes me swoon. I absolutely loved watching these two start out as enemies, evolve into friends, and eventually to boyfriend/girlfriend status. Still swooning….

1. Anne of Green Gables (1985) and Anne of Green Gables: The Sequel(1987)

Alright so I guess I cheated on my number one pick. After all I did choose two. But it’s a good kind of cheat. The kind that can’t get you into trouble.
Anne Shirley, played by Megan Follows, is an orphan who gets adopted by Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert. Eventually, she wins the heart of those around her and catches the eye of Gilbert Blythe, played by Jonathan Crombie. Gilbert likes Anne of course, but the feelings are not mutual. She tries to fight the feelings, but enventually…Well, you know.
Watch both Anne of Green Gables and Anne of Green Gables: The Sequel, please! ASAP. If you’ve already seen them? Watch them again!
“Hey, Carrots? Carrots?”

So there it is! My 5 picks of romance in the movies. As I am typing up this final draft, I realize I could have written about at least 20 more movies. What are your top picks for the most romantic movies? I would love to hear them. Rest assured I will most certainly be grabbing my pen and paper.

Leave a Reply

