What Are Your Picks For Oscar Night 2013?

Oh, how I love the Oscars! I am such a fan. In fact, as a little girl, I used to envision of going to LA to actually attend the awards and winning best actress. I would practice my acceptance speech, remembering to thank my parents, grandparents, and all my friends.

I even have that same dream now as an adult. Only, this time, I would be winning best screenplay writer.

And of course, there was that other dream of mine. If that whole screenwriting thing did not work out, I could still be a seat filler. (Hey, there is a reason why they are called dreams!) Perhaps some day tho….

But enough chit chat about my little Oscar dreams. Onto more important questions. With the Academy Awards coming up in a week or so, I ask you this. Who do you think the winners will be? Here is a refresher for some of the nominees:

Best Movie
Silver Linings Playbook
Zero Dark Thirty
Argo
Armour
Les Miserables
Django Unchained
Life of Pi
Beasts of the Southern Wild

Best Actress
Jennifer Lawrence: Silver Linings Playbook
Naomi Watts: The Impossible
Emmanuelle Riva: Armour
Quevenzhane Wallis: Beasts of the Southern Wild
Jessica Chastain: Zero Dark Thirty

Best Actor
Bradley Cooper: Silver Linings Playbook
Daniel Day Lewis: Lincoln
Hugh Jackman: Les Miserables
Joaquin Phoenix: The Master
Denzel Washington: Flight

Best Supporting Actress
Anne Hathaway: Les Miserables
Sally Field: Lincoln
Helen Hunt: The Sessions
Amy Adams: The Master
Jacki Weaver: Silver Linings Playbook

Best Supporting Actor
Robert De Niro: Silver Linings Playbook
Tommy Lee Jones: Lincoln
Christopher Waltz: Django Unchained
Phillip Seymour Hoffman: The Master
Alan Arkin: Argo

Best Director
Michael Haneke: Armour
Ang Lee: Life of Pi
David O. Russell: Silver Linings Playbook
Steven Spielberg: Lincoln
Benh Zeitlin: Beasts of the Southern Wild

I am eager to hear your choices!

20130218-144130.jpg

8 thoughts on “What Are Your Picks For Oscar Night 2013?

  1. granolagirl33

    Steph…I too had dreams of this and recited my acceptance speech over and over as a girl, um…and twenty-something….That would be fun to be a seat filler!….So I don’t know all the categories well, but here are my picks for the catergories I do know: Best Movie would go hands down to Les Miserables; Best Actor would be Hugh Jackman; Best Supporting Actress is a toss-up for me, but I think Anne Hathaway will get it. I did see Helen Hunt in The Sessions, but I still think Anne was better in Les Miserables. I think the main actor from the sessions deserved an Oscar nod…Also, why does Leonardo DiCaprio keep getting passed up for Oscar nominations?; I think he’s unbelievably talented and was great in Django Unchained…..but that’s just my ever so humble opinion…lol….

    Reply
    1. stephinthescreentime Post author

      I agree! I think Anne Hathaway should win for best supporting actress, Les Mis should win for best movie, and Hugh Jackman should win for best actor. I think Silver Linings Playbook should win for best screenplay. Such a good flick! My sis saw Beasts of the Southern Wild today.:)
      I have also never seen Django Unchanged, but I’m sure Leo is quite capable of an award.:)

      Reply
      1. theaterlovin

        I’m rooting for Les Mis all the way!! I think Anne Hathaway will win for best supporting actress, but I have a feeling Daniel Day Lewis will win for Lincoln for Best Actor (though I’ve got my fingers crossed for Hugh Jackman). And I completely agree about Mr. DiCaprio…I haven’t seen Django Unchained either but as a HUGE fan of Leo (I know, I’m slacking…gotta see that movie!), I would love to see him receive more awards! I’m counting down the days until the Great Gatsby comes out!

      2. stephinthescreentime Post author

        Thanks for stopping by Stephanie! I really appreciate it.:) I also agree Daniel Day Lewis has a good chance of winning. Love Leo too! Did you ever see What’s Eating Gilbert Grape? He did such a good job in that. I’m also looking foward to the Great Gatsby. Love Carey Mulligan!

  2. theaterlovin

    Agreed – Carey Mulligan and Tobey Maguire should be great! And I have seen What’s Eating Gilbert Grape – I actually stumbled on it by accident when it was on TV one day and ended up loving it. He and Johnny Depp are so young in it!

    Reply
  3. Jenny

    I forgot that the Great Gatsby is coming out. I used to love that book when I read it in school. I would have to say Les Miserables will win something. I saw it in KC live when Hugh Jackman was starring in it twenty years ago. He is a different part in the movie and did such a nice job. Great movie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

