Hot, Hot, Hot, Hot Chocolate and Tear Jerkers

Happy Oscar Day everyone!! I’m so excited to watch the awards ceremony tonight. Really looking forward to it.

I wrote a blog entry not too long ago about The Polar Express. Even though it is a Christmas movie, I feel like it is more than appropriate now to share it with you all.

For one reason, it was nominated for an Oscar for the song Believe, sung by Josh Groban. Secondly, it does take place in the winter time and it is winter in this part of the world. And last, I watch Christmas movies all year long!

So it all works out!

Hope you enjoy!

You know the drill. You’re watching a really sad movie with all your friends or perhaps your family. All of a sudden, your eyes get droopy and heavy. You make sure not to look over at your friends because if they see you crying, it would be embarrassing. You keep thinking to yourself, I’m not going to cry, I’m not going to cry. Your fingers get all wet from wiping the salty tears away. You start sniffling. It’s happened. There’s no turning back. You’re flat out crying.

How many times has this happened to you? To be completely honest with you all, it doesn’t happen all that much to me. Well, ok. I guess I should come clean. It happens more than I’m letting on. Les Mis, My Girl, The Descendants, and of course, Steel Magnolias. These movies (and quite a few more) make me a weepy mess.

But there’s one movie in particular that I watch at Christmastime. And it gets me. Oh, it gets me everytime. This movie is The Polar Express. Now, I do realize this is a children’s movie and may not count as a tear jerker. But whenever it is on television, I do always find myself searching for the nearest kleenex because the tears can’t seem to stop running.

Discussion after discussion with friends and family has led me to believe that many many people have the same reaction. So clearly, I am not alone.

But have you ever wondered why it makes people (including me) so emotional? Why do the tears start flowing everytime?

Perhaps one theory is that the fun loving innocence we had as a child, seems to have disappeared. Or that we only wish we were young enough to hear that beautiful silver bell that only certain children can hear. Maybe it’s the mixture of the music and beautiful artistry.

At any rate, are there any movies that make you so sad that you need to reach for the nearest kleenex? As always, I can’t wait to hear!

10 thoughts on “Hot, Hot, Hot, Hot Chocolate and Tear Jerkers

  1. Samantha

    I mean, everyone has their things that really get them emotional. Watching Polar Express always gives me goosebumps when the main character starts believing in Santa. As for movies that are guaranteed to get a cry out of me: Marley & Me, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, and When Harry Met Sally, just to name a few. It’s funny you watch Christmas movies all the time. When I was in high school, I would listen to Christmas music basically from July to Christmas. LOL. 🙂

    Reply
    1. stephinthescreentime Post author

      Thanks so much for visiting and leaving a comment! When Harry Met Sally is one of my favorites! I heard Marley and Me is so sad! Don’t know if I will be watching that one. I have not seen all of Breakfast at Tiffany’s but I really want to see the whole thing in the near future. I listened to Christmas music too from July to December when I was in high school.:)

      Reply
  2. storiesteachus

    I’m one of those freaks who didn’t cry at the end of The Notebook, but two films guaranteed to get me going; Marley & Me and Hachi. I guess I like dogs more than I like people. The Fox and The Hound still makes me cry, as does Dumbo. Ok, so it’s animals in general

    Reply
    1. stephinthescreentime Post author

      Thanks so much for reading my blog post and commenting! I didn’t cry at the end of The Notebook either. I did cry when I read the book though. Isn’t it funny how animal movies make us cry? Bambi is another one for me and so is Old Yeller. Old Yeller is so sad. I have never seen Hachi.

      Reply
      1. storiesteachus

        I would heartily reccommend Hachi! Just keep the tissues nearby. I thin animal movies make us cry because animals have such expressive eyes and they never actually do anything to warrent suffering 😦

  3. alyssablanton

    I am usually not a crier, but I have gotten choked up a few times from movies. The moment in a movie that is guaranteed to give me watery eyes and a tight throat is when Mufasa dies in “The Lion King”. Simba is so sad, it breaks my heart! When a character in a movie gets really emotionally, that is usually what gets to me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

